The Timeless God of Eternity Past


image

All around me darkness followed the exploding mortar shells as night follows day, as winter follows spring and summer, and as death follows a lifetime seemingly gone in an instant…image

“My God, My God, why hast Thou forsaken me?”  

That, that is a bible verse. Yes, I remember it as my mother read it to me when I was a young boy. Yes, she did. Mom didn’t just read all those syrupy verses like, “God is love”, to placate the mind, no she wanted to give us a “true picture of the Almighty”, is how she would put it.

And oh how I needed that true picture now!

Mom – oh mom – where are you now? Are you with the almighty too as well as dad? No matter, for it seems that I will be joining you shortly as none of us can withstand this shelling much longer. Soon, I will be with my Maker also.

“By the word of the Lord were the heavens made: and all the host of them by the breath of His mouth. Let all the earth fear the Lord: let all the inhabitants of the world stand in awe of Him, for He spake and it was done; He commanded, and they were created.”

imageWhat was that? Where the heck did that come from? I haven’t thought of that verse in well, in twenty years, and here it comes to me now, on this God forsaken beach, with these people trying to kill me and my buddies.

No way!

I have made the earth, and created man upon it: I, even my hands, have stretched out the heavens, and all their host have I commanded.”

Well now, I do remember mom telling me all that. Nothing trite or condescending about those verses, just God saying He made everything. But why think of this now here on this bloody beach? Why does it seem so important, so critical to realize God made me and, and he made a, a place for me?

“For God, who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, hath shined in our hearts.”

YES! I remember that! And also, “If God is for me who can be against me.” Yeah, but that one is somewhat mushy and leaning towards syrupy.

Oh man, that was huge! Didn’t see that one coming.

image

I can’t hear a thing now and this debris, the smoke… “When smoke gets in your eyes.” Ha! Yeah, that’s funny. Uh, what’s that? Hey, I can’t feel my legs anymore. Well is it any wonder, look – no arms mom. Ha, ha, ha. Hey, it’s not funny, not funny, not…

Praise him, ye heavens of heavens, and ye waters that be above the heavens. Let them praise the name of the Lord:    for he commanded and they were created.”

image

~ by Vinnie on July 2, 2015.

Leave a Reply

 
